Love in Motion

wheelchair race

Last week I met with two very inspiring Mums over a very chatty and enjoyable lunch. We could have talked for hours {in fact we did!}. Not surprisingly the topic was our amazing children. In these instances it is a perfectly performed double act of dedication and love of the Mums {and other carers of course} together with the tenacity, will, strength and humour of their kids. I throw myself in the mix of the untapped love and pride I have of my own 3 children {2 of which have their own challenges}. They all amaze me in their own wonderful ways…

But back to my friends. I am in awe of the daily tasks they take on for their cherubs. Not only do they deal with non verbal cerebral palsy, but that is only the beginning… But I’m not on here to talk about their challenges as I know they wouldn’t see themselves as any different from any other hard working Mum. I’m here to thank them for their wonderful smiles, both of which light up a room when they talk proudly of their kids.

When I met with them I had a small gift. Out of all the illustrations in my book this one jumped out at me as the one I should gift to them for inspiring me to finish my book. I didn’t know if this particular illustration would have a positive or negative impact on them. For some reason I was terrified that I might send the wrong message, but knowing from experience what it’s like when someone actually ‘gets’ your kids and has an understanding of your situation I felt in my heart this was going to be OK.

So I began by asking them out of all the illustrations which one was their favourite? I had goosebumps all over when they both replied with ‘the one with the girl happily racing the boys in her wheelchair’ – phew, and bingo there it is – framed and I happily produced it from under the table! This not only filled me with relief it gave me a sense of knowing that I am heading in the right direction with my message.

So I asked them both 2 questions about the purpose of my book:

  1. To give parents and families of children with special needs a story they can relate to?
  2. OR to raise awareness about kids with special needs among the mainstream schooling system and help kids and adults gain a better understanding of inclusion, acceptance and understanding?

Although they were quick to answer ‘both’ they agreed that the latter meant more to them.

Is it possible that being misunderstood {for want of a better word}, lack of awareness or ignorance could be more painful than dealing with the daily challenges with your special needs child?

“…our kids see it how it is, and teach us lessons on how people should be treated” Maria

“Thank you again Louise for the gorgeous picture. I showed {him} and he loved it and recognised the wheelchair in the picture straight away and pointed for it to go on the buffet. xx”

“Hi everyone I love the pic and have it in my kitchen on the wall where I can see it every day. This is my wall. What a match?????? Thanks Louise!!!”

Screen Shot 2013-08-13 at 11.12.33 PM

So to my amazing friends I thank you for the first of many wonderful catch ups and sharing of stories. Till next time x

Leave a Reply

